Recent National and International Faculty Awards


Paola Zellner Bassett, associate professor of architecture, received the 2019 Creative Achievement Award from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA) for her piece “30×30,” a digital immersive exhibit celebrating the 30th anniversary of the International Archive of Women in Architecture (IAWA).

C.L. Bohannon, assistant professor of landscape architecture, received the early career 2019 Excellence in Service Learning award from the Council of Educators in Landscape Architecture (CELA) for accomplishments in the area of outreach or service-learning education.

Markus Breitschmid, professor of architecture, received awards from the Swiss Arts Council (ProHelvetia) and the Scientific Council of the University della Svizzera Italiana for German and Italian editions of his book Non-Referential Architecture. His work will also be exhibited in a forum at the prestigious 2019 Trienal de Arquitectura de Lisbon.

Patrick Miller, professor emeritus in landscape architecture, received the 2018 Jot D. Carpenter Teaching Medal from the American Society of Landscape Architects (ASLA). The award honors his significant and sustained excellence in education for his work emphasizing how better design and planning in landscape architecture can improve human well-being, particularly in underserved communities.

Sharóne Tomer, an assistant professor of architecture and urbanism, was awarded a 2019-2020 Research Group Fellowship with the Israel Institute for Advanced Studies for “Re-theorizing the Architecture of Housing as Grounds for Research and Practice.”

Lisa M. Tucker, professor and program chair of interior design, was recognized in both 2018 and 2019 as a Most Admired Design Educator by DesignIntelligence for her “incredible knowledge on the build environment” and for her empathetic service to student development.


Georg Reichard, associate director for research and associate professor of building construction, advised a student group (led by doctoral student Zachary Gould) who won first place in the attached housing division and the overall grand jury prize at the 2019 Solar Decathlon Design Challenge, run by the U.S. Department of Energy. Their TreeHAUS project is a multi-family housing development designed for graduate students at Virginia Tech. Its biodegradable materials and cyclical building systems integrate seamlessly into Blacksburg’s environmental surroundings to make the contextual ecology stronger and more resilient over time. School of Architecture + Design visiting instructor Deidre Regan also advised on the project.


Ralph Buehler, associate professor and chair of urban affairs and planning, received a Certificate of Appreciation for his work from 2012-2018 as Chair of the Committee of Bicycle Transportation for the Transportation Research Board of the National Academies of Science, Engineering, and Medicine.


Michael Borowski, assistant professor of photography, received a 2019 Research and Development Grant from the Graham Foundation for Advanced Studies in the Fine Arts for his project “Azurest,” which documents the home, studio and historical contribution of Amaza Lee Meredith to the architectural profession.

Meaghan Dee, assistant professor and chair of graphic design, received multiple awards. In 2018, she was awarded two Golds from the international United Design Alliance. In 2019, she received an American Package Design Award from Graphic Design, USA; Gold and Silver Awards from the Indigo Design Awards; Gold and Silver awards from Graphis; and multiple Gold, Silver and Bronze awards from the International Design Awards.

Kathleen Meaney, assistant professor of graphic arts, was named a 2019 Smithsonian Fellow in Museum Practice by the Smithsonian Institution for “10 Ways to Translate an Exhibit for Learning,” which focuses on the digital translation of exhibits.